No, seriously: this has been stuck in my head since yesterday, and it all belongs to Joe Romm:

A couple of thoughts from the cave, though. First off, these seems a bit peculiar: has nobody considered this before? Secondly, a long term ECS of 6C would imply a local warming at the Poles of 12C (the article even hints at up to 18C). This sounds as if it’s outside the known spectrum of variability, but perhaps someone could confirm that…

Finally, there’s a side point: like much of the other stuff recently, this is being labelled as a ‘Hansen’ paper. Hansen is not the Principle author. So why? Are some of us starting to create a ‘personality’ cult to build a representative we can hide behind? I’m not sure I like this particular tendency, especially as I realise I’ve been guilty of it myself in the recent past…

Oh Oh! My Mistake; he is the principle; thanks to Joe for pointing this out (and for visiting) .

