It seems like everyone wants to do a quickstep on the climate, but the band insists on playing a gentle waltz. The Bali buzz is all about getting on with it, with some places pointing out that soonest is best (like Bhutan, for example). Even Australia is making noises – perhaps pushing an involvement with acting as China’s ‘friend’ for other than policy-development reasons – time will tell. With Bush as the first fiddle, though,  we ain’t gonna get the Souza we need, just a gentle tune-up and a scrape or two of the Blue Danube. Woody Allen springs to mind.

But the Indian section of the band (bagpipes and Bhangra) is also making nasty noises, slightly out-of-tune, though no doubt saying what many others are thinking: there is still the overriding issue of who pays for all the changes which are needed. You can’t really blame politicians for considering their own national interests first, or for wanting to avoid having to tax their own people unnecessarily or unfairly, but if Bali ( and the 2012 agreement) is reduced to horse-trading about where the cash is coming from, and where the changes are happening, we aren’t going to see the progress we need to avoid dangerous change; it really is as simple as that.

It is always difficult to distinguish the jockeying for position and the posturing from the actual stance or potential for action, but I’m not expecting the Bush administration to move an inch (just look at the track record), nor am I expecting China or India to move from their current entrenchments quite yet. So the question is, what is Bali likely to be able to achieve? I’m not optimistic; at best, I expect the delegates to agree to continue discussing the key points somewhere else exotic next year, while the horse-trading continues in the interim.

Back home, Inel points us to the Tory party getting with the CC agenda, promoting microgeneration. There isn’t really much new in Mr. Cameron’s proposals, apart from a suggestion that they would earmark £300 million to support new projects, which is somewhat more than the Government has currently committed, but otherwise, the proposals seem pretty much in line with what is already going on. I agree with the MP who is proposing, in a member’s bill, to cut the paperwork, though: it could still be simpler to do the right thing, if the will to do so exists within government.

On a more personal note, thanks to you regulars who visit, and apologies for the relative slowness of recent posts and updates; the Old man, having come out of his hermitage, has found that the pace of the world is taking a little getting used to; at the moment, I have five major projects on the go, apart from the blog, so it is, inevitably, suffering a bit. Perhaps, also, the blog is suffering because I am moving somewhat away from the pure communication side of climate change towards the active (as in actually doing something constructive) side, and I haven’t really decided how far I should be pushing my new agenda, as opposed to the ‘routines’ that have grown up over the past few months on the site.

This is where you come in; if you can let me know what use my blog is to you, and where you think it ‘scores’ for you as a visitor, I can adapt and adjust my output accordingly. So, please let me know what you want to read about and what interests you, and I’ll do what I can.

More on the issues shortly…

